Aberavon Quins RFC | 1st Team 12 - 31 Maesteg Harlequins RFC | 1st Team
Marc Sheppard
Try 1
Conversion 1
Robbie Morgan
Try 1
Rhodri Davies
1 Conversion
3 Penalty
Jay Ronan
1 Try
Alex Griffiths
1 Try
Dean Luke Ronan
1 Try
Geraint Watkin
1 Try

Match Report
04 September 2017 / Team News

Maesteg Quins' Great Start

Saturday, September, 2nd, 2017.

Aberafan Quins 12 – 31 Maesteg Quins

Division One South-West


2016-2017 ended too early for the Quins. Such was the manner of their victory in the last match of the last campaign, their followers have been nostalgic for the style and panache the team exuded in that game.

Nostalgia could have made this match a raw experience for those followers. After the four months interlude between matches, would the Quins recreate the magnificent display in April? Seasonal openers have been a stumbling block in the past, with performances blighted by over exuberance.


Those followers needn’t have worried. It was as though the team had never been apart. Maesteg Quins’ cohesion was superb and they proved as difficult to contain as Boris Johnson’s hair, taking an impressive 0-23 lead and winning hold over their Aberafan namesakes.

Out-half Rhodri Daives kicked well and brought runners into the game, in a very good debut performance. It was Davies who goaled two penalties to give Maesteg a six-nil lead.


Jay Ronan scored the season’s first try when he crashed over wide out.

Not to be outdone, brother Dean got in on the try-scoring act. After intercepting, the tight-head desperately looked for someone more fleet of foot to take on the thirty yards to the line. Nobody appeared, so shrugging off he first tackler, with a shimmy and sprint, his try moved Maesteg further ahead.

A penalty kick struck an upright and the follow-up runners reclaimed possession for Maesteg. Moving the ball wide, Aled Edwards was brought down short of the line, but not before slipping an inside pass to Alex Griffiths to score. Converted by Davies.


Although hindered by the uncharacteristic failure of Mark Sheppard’s goal-kicking, after half-time Aberafan came to life and were next to score with a try.

It would have been a shame to set up a great chance for a bonus point, only to fall at the last hurdle. Reduced to thirteen men at one point, it seemed this was a possibility. However, despite the numerical disadvantage, Aberafan were shut out.


Rhodri Davies split the uprights with his third penalty and when possession was overturned a short distance from the Aberafan line, Geraint Watkins proved unstoppable as he dabbed down for a bonus point.

Aberafan claimed a consolation try before the end of the Maesteg men’s all-round fine team display.

Old friends Maesteg visit South Parade next Saturday.

15. Kieran Watkins 14. Alex Griffiths (T) 13. Aled Edwards 12. Lee Ronan 11. Geraint Evans 10. Rhodri Davies (C 3PG) 9. Geraint Watkins (T)

  1. Lewis Francis 2. Jay Ronan (T) 3. Dean Ronan (T) 4. Nathan Smith 5. Gavin Burridge 6. Josh Mines 8. Adam Hillier-Rees 7. Steven Williams (c)


16. Jack Picton for K. Watkins 17. Dylan Phillips for J. Mines 18. Steven Davies for G. Burridge 19. Rhodri Bwye for A. Hillier-Rees 20.Ioan Williams for J. Ronan


There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos